for all the I'll nevers...

Consider this

We often take time for granted. It’s not that we don’t care, or even that we’re not aware we’re missing out. It really comes down to priorities. And like it or not sometimes fun ends up being at the bottom of that list. But sometimes we take time for granted when evaluating our priorities, because let’s face it, we all need to eat, have clothes to wear, a roof over our heads, and the work to pay for that and maintain that, it’s exhausting. However, I want to take a minute to put that exhaustion into perspective, it’s something I need to remind myself from time to time.

We only get 728 weekends with our kids that really count. 936 that we get to cherish for ourselves.

consider-this---web

Now looking back at my own childhood, like many, I had divorced parents, plus I lived with my Grandparents for a good stretch. So as an adult thinking back, I really don’t have many mediocre memories with my parents. They are quite black and white, good or bad. Most of my day to day memories are from the time I spent with my grandparents. That was the years between 2nd grade and early middle school. That leads me to think that those years are the strongest memory years for guided childhood (I’m not talking the teen years of “I do what I want”). Obviously I could be wrong, my research is quite minimal.

I remember one day when my dad was playing board games with me, he told me he worried that one day we would be like the song “Cats in the Cradle” (by Harry Chapin). I was old enough to understand and I was familiar with the song. It never sat well with me and became a concern of mine as well. Over the years this has come to resemble our relationship a bit. I realize I don’t want that for myself and my kids. I’m more for “That’s my Job” by Conway Twitty.

Leave a Reply

